20 comments on “Reflecting On Mog Madness

  1. Mrs. Amateur here *waves*

    I can attest to Mr. Amateur’s painstaking attempt to make things as fair and neutral as possible. Many hours were spent on each round, judging, calculating and then drafting the final post. Often I’d hear him mutter “Wow” or “Damn” as he viewed another spectacular entry, or made the final calculations of scores. I could see his disappointment each round when eliminations were announced, knowing that less than half a point would mean someone wouldn’t move on.

    Thank you to Effy and Tome for your hard work, and a HUGE! thanks to all the entrants and ‘spectators’. I know that Mr. Amateur appreciates it greatly :)

    /Cheers everyone!

  2. I haven’t been up-and-about a lot in the WoW blogging community lately and I’ve only followed the weekly Sunday round up so I’m very surprised to hear there was some negativity surrounding it.

    It was great fun for me to see the entries develop throughout the different rounds – the bloggers who posted “also-rans” also comes to mind – and read each of the judges’ commentaries.

    Also, I haven’t mentioned this yet – between trying to keep my blog alive and reading what everyone else is doing at the same time – but I’m very glad you decided to keep on blogging! It’s a very good decision on your side, one thing I sort of regret about my childhood is seeing my parents so very little because of work – it’s good to hear you’re putting your free time into family quality time (maybe after a while you’ll be able to find a midway – though it was only today I read somewhere on the eu forums, “a good way to keep your children entertained is letitng them watch a movie, the bright colors and lights keep them quiet for hours” and I remembered what you’d said about the tv raising your children)

    What I mean to say is, thanks for doing this, all three of you – looking forward to another edition, and to find out what the something is you’ve laid the foundation for!

    By the way, did you see the WoW Factor stream where Keelhaul mentioned this contest? Even if not in the best light, I think that was some serious free advertising!

      • Hrm, I’ll have to watch it later and respond to it. Thanks for sharing it though!

        (and no, even if he rips the contest for that reason, I’ll still reply in a kind manner)

      • I think that while Keelhaul does make a good point about how a Transmogrification Template Kit takes on new life once you actually get into the game, he TOTALLY MISSED how the tight deadline aspect of the contest pushed everyone into using WMV/MogIt to assemble their entries. The ONE WEEK deadlines for each round of Mog Madness would have made it very, very, VERY hard to assemble nice outfits for each of the pieces we were asked to use. I imagine that most of the contestants didn’t even have most of the prompt pieces in their current character inventories — I sure didn’t! — and there’s no guarantee that they would have been able to farm up the prompt piece — let alone everything else to go with it! — within the tight contest deadlines. If the rounds of Mog Madness had been done on a one month timetable, perhaps it would have been reasonable to ask for in-game screenies for each entry. But with a one week timetable for each round? No way!

        I am totally FALLZ OVER DED that Ironyca discussed my work! /faint

        I do intend to assemble the outfits I created for Rounds 1 and 2 in-game eventually, and I plan to make something closely related to my cloth also-ran outfits for Round 4 also. I probably won’t be making up my outfits for Rounds 3 and 5 in-game, though, because they use raid drops that the alts I would choose to make the outfit for probably will never be able to obtain.

        • Exactly what Kamalia said — there’s no way on earth I could have participated in this contest if we actually had to farm up the outfits. For one thing, I would have had to bow out as soon as there was a round involving classes I don’t play. (Because seriously… there’s no way I’m leveling a toon just for a transmog contest.) For another thing, there’s no way I’m willing to spend hours grinding out gear to match a specific item for a transmog contest either. I may not have much of a life, but I don’t want to completely give up what little of my life remains for a random contest.

          If this contest required you to have the items in game it would have to be structured entirely differently. I don’t think they’d be able to base rounds on specific items, because then bad luck with drops would eliminate people. All the rounds would have to be like the first round, where you just send in an outfit you’ve already made for a particular armor type or class. Otherwise the winner would be mostly due to luck in drops or AH availability.

          I’m not saying that one contest format would be better or worse than another. There’s something to be said for using sets that people have actually put together and are using in game, but there’s also something to be said for allowing people to show what they can do when not limited by time and luck. However, once the decision was made to base Mog Madness rounds on specific in-game items, and to give one week to create each set, there really was no choice but to let contestants to use Mog It/WoW Model Viewer/etc. The contest would have simply been too onerous otherwise.

          • You’ve summed up what I believe most are thinking in terms of the logic behind Mog Madness. I’ve given the subject a great deal of thought and will actually address it later tonight or in the morning, simply because I feel a duty to do so, as well as being a blogger and just having a general opinion on the whole matter.

    • Oh my lots to comment on…

      It was great to have you with us, even following along at the end! Glad you enjoyed it.

      Thank you for the kind words regarding my stepping away from the game and also the support in me sticking around in the blogging community.

      I didn’t see or hear Keelhaul’s comments. Based on your description I don’t know whether it was something positive or negative.

  3. I know that you tried to talk to me last night and I am SO SO SO sorry that I wasn’t very responsive. My only excuse is that I was literally exhausted from my insane weekend and my attention was else where :D

    I loved this entire thing. It was so so fun and something exciting to do when I had time. I was so happy to make it to the final 5! :D I’m gonna do it again when you do it again and honestly, I missed that there was going to be a prize.
    :D

    • Yeah, we didn’t mention the prize thing until it slipped out after Round 4 in the comments section. I still kept it somewhat quiet.

      But, now that it’s over, I’ll use you as an example of what I was afraid of. Had people known from beginning there was a prize, and either you or Kuroma won (both guildmates, though different guilds), I could see people suggesting favourites. Not that I doubt the character of anyone involved, it was merely a concern of mine based on past ventures.

  4. One improvement I would have liked is to see individual scores a little more closely rather than just 14.3. This is because i like things broken down and enjoy seeing things like this scored a 5 on color coordination but only a 3.5 on uniqueness…or whatever. So it helps me understand better what the judges are looking at. I sometimes thought that certain outfits should have gotten higher or lower scores, but was left boggled at how the final score was achieved, so having this categorical breakdown helps me better understand the perspective of the judge.

    As for fairness though, I thought the whole thing was great, I was silently watching and really thought you guys did a great job and had a good plan for the contest. I liked the way it advanced. Very fun!

    • I kept the files with the full breakdown actually. I just thought it easier to give our complete scores…and honestly wasn’t sure how many people like statistics like I do. I never thought of it the way you’ve explained here and it’s a very good idea.

  5. I just have to say that this contest made me realize that I wasn’t as crazy as my guildies thought I was. I’ve been talking about transmog ever since it was first announced and still will log in just to look at new gear combinations. Thank you very much for doing this and I REALLY hope there will be more friendly competitions in the future!

    • There will, there will. I promise!

      No, you’re not alone. That’s what I think is the important thing here is that the moggers are a definitive community.

  6. Pingback: What Did He Say? « Amateur Azerothian

  7. I really enjoyed Mog Madness JD, you did a great job. I admit to bouncing up and down waiting to see what everyone came up with each week with anticipation, so fun to see!

    I usually didn’t know who was who either, although Kam’s outfits sort of have a Kamalia signature, can usually tell on her outfits. I put them all in Photoshop to match lighting to give the darker shots at fair shot.

  8. Pingback: A World Without Copy+Paste and Other Random Tuesday Musings « Effraeti's RP

Leave a Reply

