Professions, And Where I Was Wrong

So, last month, we had a discussion over a couple of days regarding what professions to take when rolling a new toon on a new server.  I argued Enchanting and Skinning, while most people suggested the other gathering professions, Herbalism and Mining.  You know what I’ve learned since then?  You’re almost better off not even bothering.

Leave `em blank or take your time.

I know it was touched on back then, but the fact is the levelling system in this game is so out of whack now that it is literally a waste of time to work on professions on a toon you plan to level relatively quick.  Even without any bonus XP from your guild or heirlooms, the levels come fast.  Add in those other things and, well, my goodness.  You literally have to stop levelling in order to work on points in your professions.

Now, we’re talking primary professions here of course.  I still recommend cooking as soon as possible as most of the dailies (particularly Ironforge and Thunder Bluff) are easy as pie and have solid xp.  By the time you seek cooking benefits, you’ll be high enough.  But we’re getting off course at the moment.

If your plan is to get a toon to 85, just do it.  Don’t even bother with professions.  I can’t believe I’m actually saying that, but it’s true.  Yes, you’ll pay through the nose for materials when the time comes that you actually decide to pick up a couple of crafts (then again, who says you absolutely have to?), but if you can maximize your resources, it won’t be too bad.

Now, if you’re planning to take your sweet time then just go with whatever professions you enjoy or want the character to have.  You’re in no rush, so you can “nickel and dime” your profession(s) as you go.  Plus, once you’re high enough you can get some bonus points from the Darkmoon Faire in order to avoid those “tough to level” spots in your profession points.

Yes, I’m stubborn, and I stuck to my guns when we talked before.  What else would you expect from such an opinionated fella with a fascination for Dwarves and Tauren?  That said, there comes some humble pie at times, and I have no problem eating a slice now and then when it’s aroma wafts my way.

10 thoughts on “Professions, And Where I Was Wrong

  1. Navimie June 15, 2012 / 1:50 am

    That’s interesting. I thought they would help you level and stuff (like herb and mine giving xp).

    • JD Kenada June 15, 2012 / 7:44 am

      Yeah, the gathering ones can help level. However, look at Saintvache’s profs. I jacked Enchanting via the Auction House. I was out of zones so fast he never even had the chance to build up his herbalism. Sure I can pick some, but much like the quests turn green…you’re off to the next zone before you’ve gone out of the way to get your flowers.

  2. shoryl June 15, 2012 / 8:06 am

    I have to admit that I’m a little disappointed in the speed at which you can level (It’s too fast). It’s almost like Blizzard is also trying to tell us that the endgame is where it’s all at. I picked up a level and a half on Sveala the other night. In four Outland dungeons.

    A week ago, Sveala picked up over a level in Blackrock Spire – admittedly we started with Upper and discovered we’d been queued with Lower, so we did the whole darned thing, but still. An entire level in one instance with three heirlooms, guild perks, and rested XP. (And one quest turnin)

    That’s just too fast!

    • JD Kenada June 15, 2012 / 8:20 am

      You could always take those heirlooms off 😉

      Honestly, for a long time now, Outland is insanely easy to level through. Not that I mind entirely because I still loathe Hellfire Penninsula.

  3. Matty June 15, 2012 / 8:26 am

    It’s funny, but thinking about this with the various alts, the leveling of their professions almost comes with their individual journeys: for example, with the first one, Mataoka, I had no clue what I was doing at any point in time, and the JC/Mining leveling came at an awkward, sporadic pace. For the tank and priest, somewhat in line with their leveling, and the others have been back to “when I have time/through the nose” sorts of things. It is too similar to real life sometimes–few of us know exactly the career paths we should follow when we are young, and that dreaded question, “Where do you see yourself in five years?” is somewhat ridiculous. I feel that now that I know a few more things about leveling a character and professions, I can keep things more in sync.

    • JD Kenada June 15, 2012 / 11:16 am

      That’s a great way to look at it. Well put!

  4. kamalia June 15, 2012 / 11:59 am

    My Tauren alts have mostly had their professions pre-determined to give me the complete set of professions among all of them together. My professions for my other Horde and my Alliance alts have been pretty disorganized, and mostly gathering-focused rather than crafting-focused, until just recently, when I went through and curated them. I tend to allow my professions to lie fallow until a character reaches the character level for a profession break point — 35, 50, 65, 75 — and then I grind professions until they’re caught up.

    • JD Kenada June 15, 2012 / 3:41 pm

      I’ve done a pretty good job of that with my Alliance toons on my main server. The only thing I never had was an Alchemist (though Mrs. Amateur has one at 525, so no biggie). But newer characters, if it suits the character I will pick up the profession(s)…while others I’m not even bothering.

  5. tomeoftheancient June 15, 2012 / 12:29 pm

    It is agonizing now that leveling’s so fast. You have to either hang around zones after you’ve out leveled them or have money to buy stuff to help you catch. I remember Sasche had to give up on tailoring in Wrath and then came back as an 85 and quickly got stacks and stacks of Frostweave and finally managed to get to 525!

    • JD Kenada June 15, 2012 / 3:42 pm

      I think that’s pretty much the way to do it, unless you can build yourself a profession levelling kit.

Leave a comment