48 comments on “Mogolympics – Closing Ceremonies

  1. YAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAY!!!!!!

    (I’m thinking the Mister is going to pass out now…)

    Thanks so much to all the participants and a huge, ginormous, Ragnoros-sized (but significantly less burninating) hugs and thanks to the judges!

  2. OMG, you built a whole website to archive the outfits?! What a crazy amount of work! I haven’t had a chance to go through much of it, but what I’ve seen looks really amazing. Well done, JD!

    Wow, you can really tell the different style of each judge based on their judge’s choice. LOL Congratulations to all the winners, and thanks again to everyone who participated!

    I can hardly believe this is over…

    • Yeah, my only regret is the website isn’t finished. There’s a tonne of wowhead links I need to get up and also MogIt once it’s 5.0 compatible. Then move over a whole slew of reference stuff I have logged. I just didn’t want folks waiting any more.

  3. Pingback: Mogolympics closing ceremonies haiku « clawsofdanea

  4. Congratulations to all the winners!

    Let’s give a big three cheers to the judges —

    Hip, hip, Hurrah!

    Hip, hip, Hurrah!

    HIP HIP HUZZAH!!!

    — for their tremendous effort in judging all of these amazing outfits and for writing up such entertaining presentations and commentary for each event! You guys were fantastic! Thank you so much for doing this!

    And a big round of applause for everyone who participated, too! It was so fun to see all the different outfits created for each event — I was awed by the marvelous creativity you all exhibited!

    • Thanks Kamalia, it’s definitely a two-way appreciation.

      Thank Illidan I have a few posts in the tank, because I’m done typing for a bit! :D

  5. Pingback: At the Mogolympics with K, et al., week three « Kamalia et alia

  6. Congratulations to all the entrants! And OMG, I see I got two judge’s choice because another judge picked my other favorite, yay! And an official Transmogolympics headquarters! JD you have outdone yourself, that’s wonderful.

    • Thanks for the kind words…even though it’s unfinished, I feel less pressure about finishing it than I had when I was all sneaky and secretive about it.

  7. Pingback: Mogolympics Closing Ceremonies « Blog of the Treant

  8. So cool! Thanks for all the fun and the work you guys have put into this! Grats to all the winners, there were some seriously talented mogs competing in this competition!

    • Thanks for the kind words Ironyca. Now that this is done, I’ve definitely got judge’s burnout. When I recover, I’ll probably contact you about a future WoWFactor.

  9. This is so awesome JD! Thanks again for all your amazing work putting this contest together, you and all the judges have my appreciation! I can’t wait to check out the site. Congrats to all the winners, and all the entrants for their inspiring transmogs!

    P.S. MogIt has been updated :)

    • Thank you for the kind words, and kudos to you for your medals and such.

      That’s great to hear about MogIt as well! GAH! More links to do! lol

  10. Thankyou so very much for hosting such a wonderful and fun event. I hope we don’t have to wait another four years for the rematch :)

    Huge congratulations to everyone involved!

  11. Wow! This is just way too awesome for words. Thanks for all your hard work on this and to the other judges too.

  12. Thank you so, so much to the judges (and especially JD; you went above and beyond with this one!). And congratulations once again to all the winners. Given the competition, I’m still shocked and extremely happy that I received a medal.

    JD, if you’d like I can submit Wowhead/MogIt links for my outfits to you. Since I did all my outfits in MogIt those links will be a breeze, and my boyfriend wrote a script for me that pulls my MogIt data and generates a list of Wowhead links so that putting together Wowhead comparisons is relatively quick. I could probably supply those links by this weekend if you’re interested. Just let me know!

    • I had someone else do essentially the same thing for me via e-mail, and yes it’s an incredible help. I have links for some of the entries (not yours) that I just haven’t had the time to copy in just yet, but for any that weren’t submitted as such in the first place that is an incredible time saver.

      • I had been planning to send Wowhead links with my outfits, but ran out of time to pull that together along with my screenshots. But I will definitely have those to you as soon as I can :)

  13. Wow, everyone’s outfits all in one place like that make me feel inadequate (both as a ‘mogger and as a blogger/webkin!) Congratulations to all the winners, and thank you to all the judges for your time and consideration.

    And three cheers to JD for setting everything up–and getting it finished! ;p

    (Note: I saw my scores and I’m quite content with where I placed comparatively. :) )

    • You’re too kind and you shouldn’t feel inadequate in the slightest! I think my track record of insanity speaks for itself at this stage…only stands to reason I’d come up with a special website too, lol.

  14. O.O ZOMNaaru, Granny got an award! Thank you so much, Matty, I’m glad you liked my cyclist as much as I loved finding her. I think she was the only toon I put as much effort into finding the right face and hair as I put into the clothes.

    And JD: wow. This is so above and beyond the call of duty…all I can say is, “thank you.” For hosting, for judging, for judge and contestant wrangling, I’m sure, and now for this beautiful archive. No one can run a contest like you.

    And to all the other contestants, thank you for all the great outfits to look at and compete against (and now steal from, bwahahaha!). And thank you, judges, this new website makes it all to clear just how massive a commitment this was for all of you to push through to the end and make this such an awesome competition. Now I’ll know what I need to do to push on ahead in the *next* competition! :P

  15. This was a perfect way to close the event JD :) I had hoped like a mad woman you would be doing a website for all the contestants to be stored in one place. If you need a hand at all, set me up as an author if you like and I can help post up the pictures and stuff – the offer is there anyway!

    You guys did a fantastic job – I am amazed at the patience and talent that is out there for all of this to even happen!!

    We should do more…para-olympics perhaps???? LOL Want to be judges again…you know you do :p

    Thanks so much for letting me a part of this massive community event. I enjoyed every post, every outfit, every commentary and every video! :)

    • I did as much as I could in secrecy and silence. I may open it up to a few folks just to get the wowhead (and subsequent) MogIt links on it.

      …and clearly you’re familiar enough with my insanity that you even remotely thought there might be a website coming. Heh.

  16. Pingback: End of the Mogolympics « Azerothian Life

  17. So THIS is what you had planned! A Mogolympics site to house everything. From what I’ve seen it’s a great idea. At least for my entries you already had the WoWHead sets :)

    Congrats all round to all the judges, JD and all the participants. This would not have been the same if even one of your were not a part of it.

    • Yeah, I was all sneaky sneak.

      You were among a few people who sent me the outfits with wowhead links and I’m incredibly thankful for it. In a case such as yours, I just haven’t copied those links over. After a slight “refreshening” away from my laptop for a day or two, I’ll be back at it.

  18. That Sunreaver’s outfit was my husband’s. He’s very pleased that you liked it :D

    I’m going to have a round up of my thoughts on being a participant as well. Plus my own outfits :P

  19. Reblogged this on The Transmogative Works: Mogs by Banesidhe and commented:
    The Closing Ceremonies for the 2012 Mogolympics. A fighting tribute, I think, and more importantly, a show of just how much hard work and dedication went into this event, I think. I know JD probably doesn’t even want to THINK about doing another one soon, but I hope this becomes an annual sort of event.

    I was really excited also to see that he put together a website of the outfits, including scores, so I can see how well I did (relatively) I and the Argent Dawn also won another award, the “Preciscion Instrument” award, which was given out for consistently ranking high in each event (see the blog entry for a better explanation! :) )

    My companion pet addiction is getting some serious love soon, oh yes it is!

    And now to start seriously considering if I want to do this myself for Halloween. >.>

  20. Oh what a great conclusion! And a new website to show all our sets! That’s amazing and fantastic and A HELL OF A LOT OF WORK OMG WHEN IS IT YOUR TURN TO DO THE DISHES…
    :D

    I’ve said what I wanted to say in one of your other posts but I have these things to say to the judges:
    Ancient – I can see Catwynn’s influence there :)
    Matty – I saw that entry and thought it was very original, I liked it a lot, I want to be a cool granny like that :D
    Khizz – of the three, your choice was my favourite. Tauren females FTW and gold makes it even better!
    <3 you all!

  21. Congrats to all the winners! Seeing all the amazing entries has certainly given me some fun new transmog ideas. :)

    To JD, and all the judges. WELL DONE! Seriously you guys are amazing. The amount of effort and time you put into everything really shows. I think you all need to put your feet up and grab a drink now. ;)

    • …I actually haven’t had one since posting the closing ceremonies. BY GAWD YOU ARE SO RIGHT.

      Perhaps all the judges will log on together drinks in hand and just fall asleep. lol.

      Glad you enjoyed it and I’m DEFINITELY going to slow down for a bit. :)

  22. This was so fun to do! Mogging is such a fun thing for me to do so I loved having an opportunity to show it off :P

    Thanks again to JD and all the judges!

  23. You and all the judges are so awesome for putting on this contest! Especially as a WOW blogger, it really helps to have something creative and different to do as part of the game.

    • I’m glad you feel that way. I’d have to go back and listen to my Twisted Nether interview, but I’m pretty sure I said something to the effect of hoping people ended up as excited about it as I was.

  24. Pingback: Transmogolympics Post 3 « THE WOW DEBUTANTE

  25. Eep, been busy all this week and finally have had time to sit down to catch up on all the Mogolympics excitement!

    Just wanted to thank you so much again, JD, for putting this all together! The amount of work that you and the other judges have put into the commentary, compilations of outfits, and overall contagious enthusiasm is just AMAZING. Thanks so much for making my first time participating in a large community transmog event so much fun!!! :D

    • In fairness, I honestly had no idea it was going to BE a large community event. :)

      Thank you for taking part and so very glad you enjoyed it.

  26. Pingback: Silverwing in the Mogolympics Pt. 2 and Wrap-Up « Flask Half-Empty

Leave a Reply

