11 comments on “Prepped For Naxx

  1. I had to back away from Hearthstone for my own good. I kept buying cards thinking, just one more, just one more. Like new cards were going to make me any better, lol. I was 2.99ing myself to death.

    • Ouch. Yeah, I’ve never bought a pack. Just cycled through quests/wins enough to play in Arena games and got my cards that way. Occasionally I’ll DE into something better, but not too often. I’m patient when it comes to that stuff.

    • After buy a pack, or two, or ten… I realized that was going to be a problem for me, so I went to the parental controls and turned off the abilities to make in-game real money purchases. It also keeps me from buying anything from the in-game Blizzard store so it’s a good win for me.

  2. I just started playing hearthstone again. The more I learn about it the more I enjoy it, but I still have a lot to learn. It definitely is easier to not have full attention on than wow thanks to the often long wait for the other person to decide. Having never played any similar games I think I’m way behind the learning curve on it though. I will have to start saving my gold like you suggest as I don’t want to pay real money, and casual content would be exactly what kind I’m looking for as I’ve never played an arena or ranked combat at all. Thanks for the heads up as I didn’t even know about it. If you see me in Hearthstone feel free to chat.

    • The basic learning curve of the game isn’t too bad. It’s once you start to work the various strategies and board manipulation that it can become an art (or nightmare).

      I play in Arena because often times you get more for your 150g (even at 0-3) than you do just buying a pack for 100g.

      Honestly, and I said it to many people when the Hearthsteed first came out, play ranked. From 25-20, you can’t actually lose any ranking points. That means all the players in that bracket are trying to scratch upwards the same as you and the good ones will move through faster. Once you hit 20, then there’s the solid chance you’ll start to face better players. But even if that’s the case, you start to see why some cards have some actual value. I find ranked doesn’t make me pull my hair out nearly as much as Casual does.

      • I did both of your suggestions this weekend and enjoyed it. I got to rank 20 on a priest and played an arena on a rogue. I’m trying to unlock all of the basic cards for every class now. I’ve started saving up more gold so that I can unlock Naxx when it comes out. I figure at this point I’m so far behind on cards there isn’t much point in really pushing for ranking right now. All the suggested decks on websites expect you to have a ton of cards already at your disposal. Which class do you play most of your ranked matches with?

        • Most of my ranked games are with my Mage or my Shaman. The Shaman is all about explosive damage…or dying. lol. But I play almost all of my decks in Ranked now and again. Some do better than others…or rather the RNG likes some more than others.

          The nice thing about the game is you’re never really out of it in terms of cards because additions are very far and few between (as in none before Naxx). It’s just a matter of slowing expanding your pool. Saving for Naxx is a good idea all the same. I think 2k is a sound threshold to ensure you’ve got enough for all the wings. Remember as well, these are supposed to be tougher than the standard computer opponent we have now, so you’ll want to try to get a few cards before then to improve your odds.

          As for deck building, I honestly have never looked at one, aside from a guide on Arena building a Warlock. I just build mine and then slowly tweak them. But at the end of the day, I’m happy to hear you’re enjoying yourself. Sorry I took so long to reply.

          • Have you stuck with your saving for Naxx? I’ve followed your advice the last month or so and built up a level of gold that I don’t go below. I’ll earn some more and then play some arena then earn more again. I’m getting very excited for Naxx to finally come out. We’ll see how much Naxx ends up costing and whether my stockpile is enough. Even learning the price will be good because then I’ll know where I stand and if I should spend some more on arena or save more.

  3. I’ve been spending my gold too readily. I bought the 2.99 deal once before beta was over to get Gelbin, and once after to see if it was worth it. Gold or cash, the cards you get are the same. I’ve been playing arena, not well, but enough to get a pack and some dust or gold. I want to save gold, but that chance to get a better card is so tempting!!

    • It definitely takes a lot of restraint and depends on where you’re at. If you’re biting and clawing to climb the ranks and don’t yet have the cards, you should definitely be trying to get them. I’m in the high teens at the moment, mostly by choice. I want to play in Naxx because it’s Naxx but the added bonus is that there are going to be some really good cards in there and they are ones that will become part of prominent decks. So saving the gold now most certainly gives you the chance to get better cards when it releases.

      If you go about it such as I have, hit your threshold and then resolve not to go below it.

Leave a Reply

