14 comments on “Profane Misconception

  1. I think it comes down to communication. I’m a police dispatcher, believe me, there is a lot of f-bombs and other kind of bombs getting dropped 12 hours a day when I am at work and I have noticed since I started this job almost eight years ago, my language has got a lot worse. However, online, especially in blogs and forums, I go out of my way to keep the cursing to the minimum. Why? When you’re talking in say Vent, or in real life, there are more nuances, and if I’m talking in Vent, it’s around people I’m comfortable with. There are nuances, to tone and facial expression that you can’t get across in a strictly text format, and cursing, to me, only seems to clutter that up.

    The written language, when it’s used to communicate something, has to rely strictly on what you read, and how people interpret those words. Everything comes from those words. Tone, mood, nuance, implication- everything. There is nothing else to rely on, and while cursing like a sailor gets me by just fine at work or amongst friends, when you’re addressing a wider audience- that doesn’t work as well, because where one person may get that you’re just “being you”, five other people will only see “Gosh, this person is angry and bitter and ranting”, another three will get “This crass individual must be a troll to only be able to communicate in four letter words” and six other people will interpret it in another way entirely.

    At least, that’s my damned theory. 😉

  2. There was a guildie who used to swear every few words and I couldn’t take being on vent for that very reason. Unfortunately, he wouldn’t shut up when we should have been concentrating on raiding and it also stopped him from being able to click the button after we wiped to run back.

    People like that really piss me off but if it’s a blog that has the same amount of swearing I can just not read it. Luckily for me, the ones I do frequent and comment on, you already know who you are 😛

    Not to say I don’t swear, Cool can tell you how much I do in PVP, dungeons or raids – sometimes just for silly stuff but everything has a time and a place but that’s just my opinion. 🙂

    • Your last sentence summed up my thoughts exactly…especially the part about PvP and dungeons. Well, except LBR. I don’t think I’ve ever verbally swore during one of those.

  3. I have been known to make sailors blush. I have been known to peel paint off walls. I have been known to make saints and devils cry. But I don’t cuss at work–but Azeroth, now–that’s another story.

Leave a Reply

