7 comments on “Weighing In On Weighing In

  1. A great post, and sound advice. Sigh how I wish those who needed this advice were reading it 🙂 But perhaps we all could take this advice.

  2. I couldn’t agree more though I hope it shows through in my posts and even responses. It’s quite rare that it will be otherwise in terms of how I react to things but that’s human nature and if we could all be civil esp. when it’s hard, the world would be a much better place. I think that’s why I follow the Dalai Lama on Twitter. He says a lot of things we know we should do but sometimes forget 🙂

    • I still think it’s awesome the Dalai Lama uses Twitter, and that might be about the only reason I’d do the same.

  3. Amen, brother! One thing I have loved about getting to know you and other blogger friends is the healthy discussions we have – it’s all in fun, support, and sharing of ideas. I have had my share of vitriol thrown at me by those with big opinions, and usually recognize it’s not me, but the issue, they are ranting over. But yes, the second someone starts name calling, of which I’ve done my share, the whole thing dissolves into a mosh-pit of mess.

    I am careful about what I write, and sometimes I chide myself on being too cautious, not only in my Azerothian context but in others, too. It’s a pickle jar we’re all in, for those of us who choose to scribe our thoughts publicly. I know for a fact I have “big brother” monitoring my and other’s Facebook posts, for heaven’s sake. (I know, my sharing of a political cartoon or recipe for cake sure is dangerous!)

    When this golden rule is forgotten, treat others, bad things happen. If we just remember there is a human on the other end of that soup can and string line, we can usually keep good balance. Thank you for your post.

    • I have a family member who constantly bickers and slanders her employer on Facebook and I honestly cringe that the day is going to come where someone from said job ends up reading it. I mean, you can vent frustration, but this goes beyond that and in an improper manner. But try explaining that without beating your head against a wall 🙂

Leave a Reply

