Continuing To Lay Back

Laid Back Raids was back at it again last night.  It was an Alliance night and this time we were going to visit Kil’Jaeden.  How is it we went into a raid with a Legendary bow without any Hunters?  Oh well, it didn’t drop as it was.  Still, several people got to see the Sunwell Plateau for the very first time.  We also had a couple of fresh faces for the night as Aricelle and Martha joined us.  I took Fireflint in the hopes of a rare Blacksmithing recipe dropping.  No such luck, but even at level 75 he found an upgrade for his helmet.  There were several other great looking transmogrification items that dropped along the way.

With a dozen of us, we were through the Plateau in less than half an hour.  As such I tossed out the idea of killing Magtheridon and almost everyone was on board.  One or two folk had to head out, but we were still in fine shape.  I decided to switch to Liouxpold…mostly because Draynee had arrived in her pink outfit and I kind of facepalmed that I wasn’t showing off for Breast Cancer in the first place.  But, a short time later the pink Draenei were rolling along.  We did stop long enough for a proper photo op though.

An hour after Laid Back Raids had started, both Kil’jaeden and Magtheridon were dead and I was pleasantly surprised by “what’s next?”  Once again one or two people had to leave but my Real ID housed a new face or two that were more than willing to join us as we headed to old school Mount Hyjal.  This took longer than the previous two raids combined, simply due to its timed design.  Still, we once again had no issue and Healblade’s mage Seraphinity picked up some nice transmog potential with the Robes of Rhonin.

After all was said and done I was tempted to call it a night.  However, I had a bit of puttering around to do first and a few people were still more than happy to chat about a fun night.  I then realized the Dark Irons would be attacking Brewfest in short order.  This is important because I had gotten to 191 coins and was aiming for Brew of the Month.

So I went down to the festival, knowing full well the Dark Irons usually succeeded in their efforts because there often isn’t nearly enough to put a dent in their attack.  But, I was determined (if not foolish) and started chucking mugs.  At one point I was completely smashed, with my screen a blur and I could still tell it was full of Dark Iron diggers.  I just kept drinking and chugging.  Finally I saw the retreat message in chat and knew all was good.  I stumbled my way through the blurred screen to the cog with the daily quest.  I cashed that in and headed back to Ironforge to collect my reward.

14 thoughts on “Continuing To Lay Back

  1. tomeoftheancient October 7, 2012 / 12:11 pm

    Oh! I missed Martha! I don’t know why October has turned into sociability month here in real life, one of these nights I’m going to be home. Grats you Brewmaster you!

    • Martha (Perish Twice) October 8, 2012 / 7:12 am

      I didn’t know I was going until the last moment either, so I think I Ninja!Kitteh’d myself on that one. 😉

      Well I shall definitely be there again– that was FUN! (Only now I just need to level a horde so I can play those weeks as well. *grin*)

      • JD Kenada October 8, 2012 / 7:53 am

        I’m glad you enjoyed yourself. Looking forward to having you along…and I’ve plenty of Horde scattered across the first 50-60 levels, so hollar if you see me on and want a running mate. 🙂

    • JD Kenada October 8, 2012 / 7:41 am

      I was surprised we didn’t see you, but I know how real life goes. Heck, I was nowhere near my computer for almost 24 hours despite having plans for WoW last night. It happens, right?

  2. Navimie October 8, 2012 / 5:50 am

    Grat-shirts on brewmaster! Martha told me she went and I am glad you all looked after her.

    • Navimie October 8, 2012 / 5:51 am

      Grat shirts…. now that is the weirdest autocorrect I’ve had for ages.

      • MissusAmateur October 9, 2012 / 8:01 am

        If by ‘weirdest’ you mean ‘AWESOME’, then you are correct. 😀

    • JD Kenada October 8, 2012 / 7:43 am

      My wings are big and I’ve got room for everyone under `em. 😉

      Thanks about Brewmaster.

  3. Martha (Perish Twice) October 8, 2012 / 7:14 am

    Congrats on the Brewmaster! 😀 It’s one of my favorite events, after all who can resist invisible bunnies? (And drunken mug tossing has got to be one of the best minigame ideas ever. *solemn nod*)

    • JD Kenada October 8, 2012 / 7:55 am

      I did it just for brew of the month, and then realized the Worpeltinger quest was incredibly easy I did that. Turns out they were the only achievements left that I needed for the title. Works for me!

      Speaking of which, the real Brewfest is underway in my city as we speak. Mrs. Amateur and the boy are at the Oktoberfest parade…I really should get back to cleaning. 🙂

  4. Dangfool October 8, 2012 / 3:17 pm

    It’s so nice that while our vision goes wonky, we don’t have smell enabled. It wouldn’t be as much fun to clean up with the smell of stale beer and… well thankfully this game doesn’t attempt to capture TOO much reality!

    Gratz on your success!

    • JD Kenada October 8, 2012 / 5:25 pm

      Oh my…yes, I can think of MANY locations where enabled scents would be a detriment to the game.

  5. Chris (@oneCof5) October 8, 2012 / 3:43 pm

    Once again, thanks JD. I was late to the party, but that run through Hyjal was so much fun. Made my Wow-weekend.

    • JD Kenada October 8, 2012 / 5:25 pm

      Always a pleasure to have you with us Chris. I’m glad you could make it!

Leave a comment