Shared Topic: Blog Azeroth Thanksgiving

Blog Azeroth Thanksgiving Event 2011 I would have loved to provide a stirring rendition of this, but I’ll solo Deathwing with a Holy Priest before I ever sing well.  Instead, I offer up your imagination or a link to Billy Joel’s Piano Man if you wish to hear the original while you sing along.

It’s nine am on a Tuesday
the servers are down for repair
I type in a familiar website
And in a moment, find I am there.

I say, find me a postcard from Azeroth
It was sent in the last week, I think
But it involves a Gnome, who seemed far from home
I stumbled on it from a Gauss’ link.

[Chorus]
La la la de de da
la la de de da da dum
Give us a read Blog Azeroth
give us some thoughts today
Well, we’re all in the mood for a good read
And we know you’ve got somethin’ to say

Now Ringo Flinthammer tells a wonderful tale
From a fine dwarf’s point of view
And he’s quick with the fun, or aiming his gun
And don’t forget Beli and Baele too…

You know Ratshag is off his rocker
But for an Orc, might not be all bad.
He provides a unique delivery
Or perhaps I’m equally mad.

La la la de de da
la la de de da da dum

Now Matthew Rossi writes for WoWInsider
So he doesn’t have time for a wife.
He and Anne write Know Your Lore, and so much more
You know they bleed WoW for life.

And I’ve rewritten this twelve times,
In an effort to include everyone
But I still haven’t mentioned Saz or Amerence
From both I get much inspiration.

Give us a read Blog Azeroth
give us some thoughts today
Well, we’re all in the mood for a good read
And we know you’ve got somethin’ to say

It’s a pretty good crowd to be part of,
And at each I can’t help but smile
‘Cause I know that it’s you, they’ve been coming to view
To forget about life for awhile.
And the patch notes cause absolute uproar
They want us to respond somehow.
We look through it all, and with thoughts capable
Say the sky is not falling now.

La la la de de da
la la de de da da dum

Give us a read Blog Azeroth
give us some thoughts today
Well, we’re all in the mood for a good read
And we know you’ve got somethin’ to say!!!

To those I’ve mentioned, and so many more that I wasn’t able to include, thank you for creating, sharing, challenging, and inspiring.  The blogging community of Azeroth is a passionate, opinionated, and friendly bunch.  I really am thankful to be in the circle with such talented folks. 

23 thoughts on “Shared Topic: Blog Azeroth Thanksgiving

  1. Amerence November 22, 2011 / 5:07 pm

    JD, Great Poem/Song! I do notice that you probably forgot to add some links! spread the love!!! =) so they will know who you thank for and so that they will be ping back here. =) Good Luck with your entry! =)

    • JD Kenada November 22, 2011 / 5:12 pm

      Hrm, I added the links but when I changed the font color they blend in with the text. Guess I’ll be fixing that one!

  2. Sherry [Mia] November 22, 2011 / 5:14 pm

    Wow! Very nice! Great poem/song 😀

    • JD Kenada November 22, 2011 / 5:17 pm

      Thanks. The first thing I thought of was all the bloggers sitting in a tavern with a “narrator” singing the song as the panels showed everyone chatting. Unfortunately, I only installed Model Viewer this week, let alone try to make a Machinima in three days or less. lol

  3. tomeoftheancient November 22, 2011 / 6:23 pm

    I did sing along but I promise no humans were around to hear me ruin your great lyrics, just me and the dogs here.

    Loved the song, Top 20 on the charts at least!

    • JD Kenada November 22, 2011 / 6:25 pm

      You couldn’t ruin them half as horribly as I could. See, your dogs stayed. Mine howls and then hides in the basement.

  4. Draccus November 23, 2011 / 7:31 am

    Ok seriously this must be read along with the song playing. If only YouTube would let us cast “Silence” on Bill Joel for the length of that amazing piece of a remake. I thoroughly enjoyed that read and love how you matched the tempo and wording in some spots with the song.

    To see this remade as a Machinima and having people tossing back Dwarven ale in a firelight tavern would be epic.

    Excellent post. Keep the good times rolling.

    • JD Kenada November 23, 2011 / 2:41 pm

      Thank you very much for the kind words. With your advice, should I do it again I think I’ll try to link a Karaoke version!

  5. Karegina November 23, 2011 / 7:03 pm

    You did an awesome song. Billy Joel has been one of my favorite singer/songwriters since I was a little girl and you nailed it. A+++++ would read again! 🙂

  6. navimie November 24, 2011 / 8:39 am

    That is an awesome song to put as your entry well done 🙂 Though Draccus is right – I am trying to get the Billy Joel silence out of my head too while I was reading it.

  7. Cym (@Cymre) November 25, 2011 / 11:42 am

    What a great song you made. I love Billy Joel’s songs

  8. kamaliaetalia November 28, 2011 / 6:41 pm

    Hee hee! You got the scansion for those lyrics just right. And your rhymes and references are very clever 🙂

  9. Amerence November 28, 2011 / 9:08 pm

    Congratulations JD you are second Prize Winner of Blog Azeroth thanksgiving event this year! Please let me know when you have time to contact me via Blog Azeroth Inbox for your email address so I can send your prize to. Thanks!

    • JD Kenada November 28, 2011 / 9:40 pm

      Holy crap!

      *faints*

  10. Amerence December 2, 2011 / 5:48 am

    Already sent your Murlock Plushie, you should get it between 1-3 days because it was sent Internationally from US-Canada. Hope you like it and please post up a picture once you received it! hehe =) Grats again! Hope you will like it I chose Blue color for you. =)

    • JD Kenada December 2, 2011 / 12:43 pm

      Very much looking forward to it…my wife’s rather excited.

      Too kind Amerence!

Leave a comment