The Road To Ruin Is Paved With Good Intentions

Another Laid Back Raid tonight.  Was finally going to take Saintvache into ICC.  More importantly I wanted to get Arvash some of those final achievements he needs for his mount, Yuush’s first 25-man LK, AND get my good friend Flagsworth his first LK kill (along with a friend of his).  You know, like back at the beginning when all the folks took me to Arthas and we got my first kill.  That night was awesome.  This night…something(s) went horribly wrong.

Coolidge was having major lag issues due to a storm, to the point where he tagged along as dps because he couldn’t do much else.  Pretty Fly Draenei was along for her first night, but she was disconnecting for half the night.  Actually, most of the night.  I should have known when we thought everything was lined up for Full House, and it didn’t go off, that the night would be…out of sorts.  Still, we made it work.  I had a bit of an open door for people to join because I wanted to help Arv get those achievements and I figured increased power meant increased chances.  It got to the point where I only knew half the raid.  It’s not a big deal, but we just had a tonne of pauses before each boss and that really slowed things down.  So several folk, including Repgrind, had to call it a night just after 10pm and we were just hitting the Vampire Council ( I think).

We pushed on, and I know for a fact the later it got, the more some folks were just hanging in there to help Arv and to get those first kills for the people that hadn’t done it.  As we closed in on 11 o’clock, we were atop the Frozen Throne.  We’re discussing the phases…and four of us are gone.  Yuush, Flagsworth, our friend, and I.

Same server and it crashes.  We log back in and we’re not grouped with the raid, despite it saying we are on their end.  They invite me back and before I can invite anyone else…it crashes again.  Eye twitch starts and I log back in.  Same thing.  So the four of us are doing this, people not on my Real ID have no idea what’s going on…and it finally seems to sort out as all four of us are reinvited.  I ponder whether I’m going to be summoned in at some point, when that thought is once again interrupted by the screen above.  It continued for half an hour and then some.  I gave up, because I couldn’t even login to a character on Blade’s Edge anymore.  I just threw up my hands.  If not for housekeeping, I probably would’ve actually just shut everything down and gone to bed.

Instead, I tried to sort the mess out as best I could.  We made it clear we were calling it a night.  At least, I did with the raid because I had gone to another server.  The others just DC’d a final time and never came back for the evening and can’t say that I blame them.  I felt terrible on so many levels.  Arv didn’t get any of the four achievements he needed -though at least I know he’s going with a group again tomorrow.  Yuush didn’t get the 25-man, while Flagsworth and company were a fight away from completing it.  That says nothing about Cymre, Tyledres, Navimie, Draynee and the others who stuck it out just to try and help with these things as well.  It was just…deflating as hell and there was nothing we could do about it.

Aside from getting to hang with (mostly) friends for the night, the bright spot was finding out Draynee got her last achievement for Glory of the Icecrown Raider (25-man), so she can collect her new Icebound Proto…presuming her server stays up long enough to do so.  While there is no blue post that I’ve seen on the matter, the discussion in the Forums is that it’s actually a hack that is crashing the servers.   Either way, I cannot hide my overall disappointment and try to follow through on the promises for those involved tonight.

24 thoughts on “The Road To Ruin Is Paved With Good Intentions

  1. Navimie September 16, 2012 / 11:54 pm

    Oh, I was fine! It was frustrating but I was entertained enough with seeing Draynee and chatting to Arv and other SR people (because I never see them because I’m never really on at this time). I was more feeling bad for you because I know you’d feel bad letting everyone down. Besides, I got to meet some people tonight, so I was pretty chuffed.

    • JD Kenada September 17, 2012 / 7:01 am

      You know me too well. 😉

  2. Cymre September 17, 2012 / 3:31 am

    I was hoping to get some of the achievements that Cool and I were missing but it was nice to see some of the other bloggers I’ve known for so long. But you’re right, there were a lot of issues happening today.

  3. Ishtla September 17, 2012 / 4:34 am

    I’m sorry to hear things got so bad after I left; though Blizzard’s technical issues aren’t your fault. Hopefully Arv can get those last few he needs though and for me I still had fun and hope my guildie and his friends (mainly his friends) behaved themselves after I left.

    • JD Kenada September 17, 2012 / 7:03 am

      Everyone was pretty behaved. It wasn’t an issue there. Again, it was just a case of a few small stars lining up wrong and then Blizzard’s technical black hole that capped the night.

  4. tomeoftheancient September 17, 2012 / 6:06 am

    Yike! Read the forum about it, that was awful. Sorry I couldn’t be there to share the pain. But it sounds like those that didn’t have issues got to enjoy meeting up.

    • JD Kenada September 17, 2012 / 7:04 am

      Yep. Also, several of us ran a spur of the moment Black Temple run that wrapped up about a half hour before the ICC one started and that was certainly enjoyed. Even saw a few achievements go off and Missus Amateur got his mask for her Druid.

  5. arvash29 September 17, 2012 / 6:29 am

    It’s all good JD, I guess it just wasn’t meant to happen last night, but I appreciate all you did to put the raid together. =) I’m actually more bummed that we couldn’t get your friends the 25m LK kill…after all we went through and not to get to pull LK at least once. I can extend the raid on Diz and maybe we can finish it up sometime this week when things settle down (although Jaina and crew might say otherwise…..lol)

    • JD Kenada September 17, 2012 / 7:06 am

      I was thinking of extending it on Vache today as well. Once my blood pressure got back to normal I started to rationalize it and that was the idea I came up with. Perhaps finish it on Saturday or Sunday.

      And any time Arv. I’m always open to what people want to run and we didn’t have anything scheduled. So it was worth a try.

    • JD Kenada September 17, 2012 / 7:22 am

      Or, you know, I might STILL not be able to login to Saintvache this morning…

      • Freyana September 17, 2012 / 7:47 am

        I think they’re doing rolling restarts this morning at 10am PST. Try logging in to extend the lockout after 11am PST or so. Fingers crossed this will fix things 🙂

        • JD Kenada September 17, 2012 / 7:50 am

          I’ll be at work 😉

          • Freyana September 17, 2012 / 7:55 am

            Oh, yeah. For some reason, I thought it was Sunday… *needs more coffee*

          • JD Kenada September 17, 2012 / 8:04 am

            More importantly, the average person will not be at work, so your suggestion was more than fair. Besides, it occurs to me I’ll be home AFTER work and before the servers go down.

  6. Freyana September 17, 2012 / 7:46 am

    Aside from the server crashes you experienced (and hoo boy, that seems to be quite a mess; sorry you had to deal with that), ICC was insanely buggy when my guild and I were running it on Friday. We started off with two 10-mans running on heroic, and when enough people dropped that we could make 1 10-man it wouldn’t let us merge raid IDs even though we had downed the same bosses. That forced us to continue on normal even though we were trying to get the heroic wing achievements. Trash kept resetting even after the bosses the mobs were attached to went down. Valithria Dreamwalker started when we were in the middle of Blood Queen, so we wiped BQ to reset the Dreamwalker encounter. Then it started again as we began the trash leading up to Dreamwalker, which meant trash kept multiplying to the point where we wiped (which was OK, since we needed to stop her again).

    After all of that, we decided to call it and extend the lockout. Maybe it will be less buggy after this Tuesday…

    • JD Kenada September 17, 2012 / 7:51 am

      Yeah, as soon as you down a boss, your raid gets a unique ID. Even if you did the same bosses, you’re working off two different raid id’s. Those just can’t be merged.

      That sounds like an equally frustrating night. 😦

      • khizzara September 17, 2012 / 10:12 am

        Yeah, as JD said, for some reason Blizz decided that all heroic raids get their own unique lock out and can’t be merged. So if you start heroics with one group you can’t switch to another group regardless of the number of bosses you downed. Normals are fine, you can merge normals, but not heroics. I think it’s ridiculous and have no idea why they made it that way.

        • Freyana September 17, 2012 / 10:17 am

          Mur. That is ridiculous, esp. with regard to old content. Though it was pretty funny to have the raid group all standing in the same spot but be completely unable to see each other. We used a warlock portal to summon one group into the other once we switched back to normal so we didn’t have to run back out yet again, which was equally funny.

  7. satsuri September 17, 2012 / 11:27 am

    Yeah, our server kept crashing last night! That was pretty annoying. Finally stopped around 10pm ST.

    • JD Kenada September 17, 2012 / 11:32 am

      Apparently there were a lot affected. Poor Draynee over on Area 52 suffered for half the night.

  8. tyledres September 17, 2012 / 4:30 pm

    It’s too bad your friend didn’t get to even attempt the last boss. But not much you can do. Was still a pretty fun night even if I was one terrible little boomchicken.

    • JD Kenada September 17, 2012 / 10:26 pm

      True. Looking to ensure at least one of us locks the instance and then we can go spank Arthas next weekend quickly 😀

  9. prettyflydraenei September 17, 2012 / 7:49 pm

    I had a great time JD, disconnects and all! I was secretly hoping the servers were self-destructing due to CRZ, but I’m still in shock that it was under-dwelling miscreants that were responsible! Anyhow, it was super cool getting to meet bloggy peeps, and if you extend the lockout for the LK kill, I will do my best to be there 😉

    • JD Kenada September 17, 2012 / 10:27 pm

      It was great having you with us and glad you enjoyed yourself amidst the general chaos.

Leave a comment