The Good Samaritan

Normally the first toon I roll on a new server is one who takes up Enchanting…or at the very least, I make sure to get one quick.  Too much gear is relatively worthless in the early crafting stages, unless you disenchant it.  Then, depending on server economy, you might get a return.  That’s not always the case though.  So, what to do with 10 pairs of Embossed Leather Gloves?

I can’t even begin to tell you how I came up with the idea, but I’m glad I did.  For the sake of the discussion, I’m using my rather low Dwarf Hunter on Steamwheedle Cartel as an example.  His Leatherworking is a pittance, as I often just snag stuff off the auction house to use because he doesn’t leave Ironforge very often to kill and skin.  So when I amass enough Light Leather to craft a couple of things, I tend to get to work.

When I’m either done, or out of bag space, I look at the gear I’ve crafted and who it applies to.  Obviously there’s a chance the Agility boost on the previously mentioned gloves could help a low level Shaman or Druid , but it’s much more likely on a Hunter or Rogue.  So I do a /who for the class.  If I see someone low level (or level appropriate anyway), I simply mail them the item with a little note explaining I crafted it for points and thought they might be able to use it as they level.

You know what?  It’s actually a really nice feeling.  It’s such a nonchalant act, and let’s be honest when was the last time you got mail from a complete stranger in-game?  Sometimes I get replies, sometimes I don’t.  One thing, though, I never get the item back.  That’s important to me.  I don’t know what the person on the other end of the mailed item does with it, but they do something and that’s all that matters.  Give it a try at some point and you’ll see exactly what I mean.

10 thoughts on “The Good Samaritan

  1. Matty March 13, 2012 / 9:17 pm

    Ah, so glad there are souls like you out there, JD. So very glad.

    • JD Kenada March 14, 2012 / 3:48 am

      I do what I can Matty. Thanks for the kind words.

  2. tomeoftheancient March 14, 2012 / 7:26 am

    I do that with gold. I did apparently scare someone though as I got a flurry of messages like DO I KNOW YOU??? Who are you??? but they did not send back the gold, lol.

    • JD Kenada March 14, 2012 / 9:20 am

      I’m tight with my gold, lol. I’ll buy an item and send it before I ever send someone gold. lol

  3. Effraeti March 14, 2012 / 10:49 am

    What a neat idea, JD!

    I have read of established guilds and people putting together Care-packages for newcomers to servers, but this is a different twist!

    ~ Effy

    • JD Kenada March 14, 2012 / 11:57 am

      I’ve heard of the care packages as well now that you mention it, though I wasn’t trying to emulate that. It just seemed like an idea to do.

      Thanks again for the kind words.

  4. Navimie March 16, 2012 / 3:41 pm

    That is such a nice thing to do JD! It’s those little things that make the game such a great place. Kudos to you /bow

    Where were you when I was levelling?? 😛

    • JD Kenada March 16, 2012 / 5:05 pm

      Why weren’t you leveling in ?

      It’s like pulling teeth getting people to actually take/use the stuff I’d put in the guild bank. lol

  5. Nightwill (@oathblade) March 31, 2012 / 2:42 pm

    When I level alchemy I make sure to do this too. Random people or guildies. That +4 str elixir isnt so uber to you but its nice when your low level and its a great feeling to give and receive such things.

    • JD Kenada April 1, 2012 / 10:46 am

      Exactly! Kudos to you for also playing the Samaritan role!

Leave a comment