Gold Oggling

Special thanks to Matthew McCurley for the subject of today’s post.  On Friday he was nice enough to share some beta footage from Ragefire Chasm as it’s undergone some inhabitant changes.  Let’s watch the video again, shall we?

Did you catch that?  Watch it again.  Still didn’t catch it?  Go straight to 3:44.  That’s right, Oggleflint’s Chasm paste now.  This is a big deal.  From a storyline purpose, it’s relatively meaningless.  From a gold making standpoint, it’s an opportunity.

Oggleflint currently drops Oggleflint’s Inspirer, a +3 Strength Mace for level 13.  Mmmm…twinkalicious.  It doesn’t sell for a whole lot Horde side, I usually see it for 12-20g because you can farm the tar out of it.  Alliance side it’s more like 50g.

Imagine that value when the mob that drops it no longer exists.

Heading to Ragefire Chasm yet?  Even keep an eye on your Auction House for listings of the Inspirer and toss them in your bank until Mists of Pandaria is live and the item can’t be sought out anymore.  Then profit.

This is one of the important things to remember at this time of an expansion: change.  Sometimes it’s major and sometimes it’s minor, but for the goldmaker you need to be aware of it just the same and determine which ones will boost your profit margin.  Had folks realized the Deadmines was going to offer far less Defias gear when Cataclysm launched, you can bet they would’ve stocked up on it even more.

9 thoughts on “Gold Oggling

  1. Matty March 26, 2012 / 8:38 am

    Thanks for the tip! Now, whether or not I take action, much like real life, not so good at the gold thing!

    • JD Kenada March 26, 2012 / 8:48 am

      Take a look around here. Most of the tips I have offered up over time are relatively simple and not too time consuming, because quite frankly I don’t have the time either.

      I’ve also switched from ZOMG MUST MAKE GOLD to ensuring whatever server I’m on I have a little nest egg. I make a bit here and there, but it’s not a goal of mine anymore.

  2. tomeoftheancient March 26, 2012 / 10:06 am

    I’m such a lazy money maker. I’m afraid my money making tactics are to do the jewelry daily and sell the Chimera’s Eye. Oh, and make lots of Mysterious Fortune Cards.

    Maybe I’ll pay a visit to Ragefire Chasm!

    • JD Kenada March 26, 2012 / 10:11 am

      If you’re a scribe, make Rogues Decks and Mages Decks for dirt cheap, and for the latter do the quest for each of those items and sell them.

      There’s a post about that somewhere around here…

  3. Töki March 26, 2012 / 6:11 pm

    Here I was, thinking they would add in the items that were wiped out through the Cataclysm – to find more stuff will be removed. Time to start farming I guess!

    • JD Kenada March 26, 2012 / 6:53 pm

      It’s always hit and miss. Somethings come back, some go away.

      Now, I’m not saying Oggleflint’s Mace is completely gone, but logic suggests it probably is. Worst case scenario you’ve stocked up on a twink mace that should still sell even after Mists launches (but it looks to me like his mace is in with the rest of his bones, to be honest).

  4. Navimie March 27, 2012 / 3:25 am

    Really?? I’ve been vendoring that crap! I have so many from trying to get my prospector gear…

    • JD Kenada March 27, 2012 / 5:51 am

      You need to install AuctionLite and scan regularly. You may find a drastic increase in your phat gold stackz.

  5. Navimie March 27, 2012 / 3:26 am

    Stupid Gravatar has wrong thing on it…

Leave a comment