Dwarf Channeling

Because sometimes real life is too fun not to share…

Dwarven Wardrobe Issues

That has always been my favourite dwarf /silly.  Well, that and the winter one.  However, it was far less funny when that’s pretty much what happened to me tonight.  At work.

I work in an elementary school.

Hopefully you’re laughing at this point and don’t think me some weirdo.  The good news is, I work in said school pretty much after hours.  The amazing thing is how I even did it in the first place.  I was putting some stuff away in a storage closet…quick note, our uniform pants are done up like fancy dress pants with that funky hook style instead of a button.  Anyway, I’m putting the stuff away and I somehow caught my pants on the frame of the door, where the door latch would catch.  As my momentum was carrying me, it basically ripped that “funky hook style” right off.

I had over an hour left in my shift.

Now being the trooper I am, I tried my darndest to still be productive.  However, my job is entirely physical and involves being on my feet.  If I’m on my feet, and trying to work…my pants fall down.  There are many windows in my school.  You can see where this is going, and so could any of the neighbours.

After about 10-15 minutes and 10-15 near falls for my pants, I parked myself in the office until the shift was done.

10 thoughts on “Dwarf Channeling

  1. Navimie April 18, 2012 / 4:47 am

    LMAO! Well, you know you are in a school. You could have fixed it with a wide variety of items. Like… pegs. OR, a FOLDBACK clip! Yeah!!! Those things are so useful, you could have put a mega one on your pants, and held them together. And hope you don’t get your “hammer” caught on the foldback part… YEEEOUCH.

    OK I found this far too amusing. I’m still giggling.

    • JD Kenada April 18, 2012 / 6:11 am

      Trust me, were that it were as simple as a paper clip, it would’ve been taken care of immediately.

      It occurs to me that there are people in this world who would pay to have their “hammer” in a foldback…you know what, I’m just going to go now….

  2. tomeoftheancient April 18, 2012 / 5:48 am

    LOL! You better start wearing Dwarven suspenders to work to better protect your tools!

    • JD Kenada April 18, 2012 / 6:13 am

      I blame shoddy tailoring. My Mage has never had one of his items do that.

  3. mataokashaman April 18, 2012 / 10:36 am

    Being a Yank the obvious solution is duct tape. That is how we fix everything.

    • JD Kenada April 18, 2012 / 12:06 pm

      You know Red Green is Canadian right?

        • JD Kenada April 18, 2012 / 6:56 pm

          “Keep your stick on the ice.” That’s PURE Canadian right there. Granted, the rest of the show could just as easily be somewhere in Northern Minnesota…

          Ugh, I feel old now. I remember when he was on Smith & Smith with his wife.

  4. Jai April 18, 2012 / 10:01 pm

    if you have belt loops, rope or extension cords work just as well

    • JD Kenada April 18, 2012 / 11:05 pm

      In hindsight, I should just wear a belt more.

Leave a comment