LBR – Where It All Began

Left to Right: Navimie, Cymre, Coolidge, Repgrind, Glyph of Jai, Kamalia, Amateur, Tome of the Ancient

Given the previous week, and this time of year, I wasn’t sure what to make of the planned raid heading into it. Apparently that was all for not, as we had a great turnout, as you can see by the above picture! With such a stellar group, it should come as no surprise that the chess event probably took longer than the rest of the run. It was nice that we had the Wizard of Oz event in the opera, but unfortunately for the cloth Moggers in the party, there was no hat to be found. Saintvache picked up the Shield of Impenetrable Darkness courtesy of Nightbane, though. I foresee an upgrade to his look coming.

All in all, there was actually a lot of great loot dropping, including a Tailoring pattern that Navimie won. Can’t recall it at the moment, but it was a Cloak and one I’d never even heard of. After that, a couple of Repgrind‘s guildmates joined us for Gruul’s Lair (congrats to the one who got the achievement as well!) and I picked up two more Tier pieces. I didn’t see if Kamalia got her shoulders, but I know she was hoping. It was at this point the group wanted to continue on to Magtheridon’s Lair, but Navi had to call it quits and looking at the clock I realized it best that I do the same.

To the best of my knowledge the rest stayed together and carried on. For me, though, there was a special moment. When we were all gathered inside the gate I suggested the obligatory picture (seen above) next to the caretaker. We notoriously wait until the end of the raid usually, and then a few people are gone by that time so I thought it wise to get the picture first this time. Setting up my screen for the shot was when it hit me that this was where it all started.

Way back in April, when I was set to retire, we ran Karazhan first and did so with Horde toons. I wanted to take Saintvache because it’s truly my favourite instance in the game. I think I accurately summed up what happened that night, and here we are some three months later.  While a few people have faded from that night there have been a tonne more that have joined in. As I think back on the days leading up to that night, and the evening itself, this is about the last thing I would have expected. Yet, here we are. Folks who, like yours truly, love nothing more than kicking back and visiting the old content once a week – together. On occasion it can still be tough. On occasion it’s pure zerg (funny enough, that seems to be when Coolidge is along). But it’s always relaxed and enjoyable. Someone told me this morning they’re glad I didn’t call it quits that night. Every week I’m reminded why I’m glad I didn’t either.

14 thoughts on “LBR – Where It All Began

  1. Cymre July 23, 2012 / 7:18 am

    Love the before and after shots. We did breeze through the places. Cool and I are used to zooming through stuff. I actually told him to slow down a bit as it was more about the experience of raiding together, being my second one. All-in-all it was fun. Hopefully we can do some ULD some time, and maybe some achievements too.

    • JD Kenada July 23, 2012 / 8:36 am

      I’ll be updating the raid schedule today or in the morning. I promise you won’t have to hope for too much longer. 😀

    • repgrind July 23, 2012 / 9:07 am

      lol. Cool is totally a typical prot pally. Arv flies through stuff the same way. I’m so used to keeping up with him that having Cool lead the way felt perfectly normal to me.

      • JD Kenada July 23, 2012 / 10:01 am

        I’m used to it as well…because, you know…Saintvache levelled as a Prot Pally. lol

    • Coolidge July 23, 2012 / 9:17 pm

      The only thing that came to mind after hearing about going at a fast pace, and yes Cym and I are use to a fast pace =p, is this. Please watch the whole thing!

      Makes me think of this

      • JD Kenada July 24, 2012 / 3:33 am

        Heh.

        And nothing wrong with a fast pace.

  2. tomeoftheancient July 23, 2012 / 8:18 am

    I can’t believe that night was back in April, seems like just the other day. I am so glad you’re still here in Azeroth with us, it would be a darker place without you.

    • JD Kenada July 23, 2012 / 8:38 am

      Thanks Tome. I think Azeroth would still be ok. There’s many folks who shine pretty bright throughout it (yourself included).

        • JD Kenada July 24, 2012 / 3:33 am

          *points a finger at Navi as well*

  3. Navimie July 23, 2012 / 9:20 am

    Was it that long ago?

    Oh god, I am wearing the same stuff… people are going to think I’m smelly coz I don’t change my clothes… And Ancient’s pet is STILL facing the wrong way. He’s just camera shy I think. I too am glad you’re still here 🙂 But you don’t need me to tell you that.

    • JD Kenada July 23, 2012 / 10:03 am

      It’s almost a formality that in every group shot, something or someone is mooning the camera. (Seriously, go back and look).

      And the only reason Saintvache wasn’t in the same outfit was because I didn’t have him Prot during the picture taking process. I switched right after. Plus, you know how good your gear looks. 😉

  4. kamaliaetalia July 23, 2012 / 10:52 am

    I always love to go back to Kara, especially with a great group like the LBR crowd! I’m glad you’ve stuck around and been organizing this 😀

    I didn’t get the T4 shoulders in Gruul’s, but after you left and after we did Mags, people were still up for more and so we went and did TK at my suggestion, and I got my T5 shoulders! Many thanks to Coolidge for heading that up!

    • JD Kenada July 23, 2012 / 12:54 pm

      Nice! I wondered just how much more you guys would end up doing.

      Thanks for the kind words Kamalia.

Leave a comment