Mogolympics – Javelin Recap

The Javelin took place this afternoon in the Wyrmbog.  Truly noble heroes will recognize the grounds as just outside the former lair of Onyxia, the dragon.  The organizers did it in stages as the contestants had to meet a minimum distance to move on to the next round, until the finals which was merely a measurement at that point.  There was some debating among the officials right from the get go.  A Warlock wished to enter the competition and argued that her minion could wield the Javelin on her behalf.  After a lengthy debate and no evidence to suggest otherwise, the entry was allowed.

The first distance was 330 feet, which all the contestants easily cleared.  In an effort to move things along, the next distance was 355 feet, where we saw our first eliminations:

The markers were then moved another 10 feet to a distance of 365.  Some valiant efforts, but we saw over a third of the field unable to proceed:

The semi-final round was set at 375 feet.  The distance was make or break, as it nearly cut the remaining field in half.  13 competitors were eliminated this round.:

We still had a whopping 16 competitors in the final round where it was all about who could throw it the farthest.

377 Feet

 

378 feet
379 feet
380 feet
381 feet
382 feet
384 feet

If it weren’t a tight enough contest at this point, we had a tie for second place at 385 feet!

 

That means, with a whopping 387 feet, the gold medal went to the League of Arathor!!!


Congratulations again to today’s winners, and in all honesty all of the competitors.  That was the fiercest and tightest event we’ve seen so far in this year’s Mogolympics.  Each and every entry should be proud for bringing their best to the field today!

24 thoughts on “Mogolympics – Javelin Recap

  1. khizzara August 26, 2012 / 6:55 pm

    Woot! Congratulations, everyone!

  2. kamaliaetalia August 26, 2012 / 7:01 pm

    Wow, that was a really tight competition for sure! Awesome outfits, all around, and congrats to the well-deserved medals!

    • JD Kenada August 26, 2012 / 7:06 pm

      Tight is an understatement. I doublechecked the results about half a dozen times just to make sure everything was right.

  3. Navimie August 26, 2012 / 7:30 pm

    Ohh I like this commentary too! I get to see how I went! Grats to the winners, some fantastic work there!

    • JD Kenada August 26, 2012 / 7:32 pm

      Gotta keep it fresh you know 🙂

      • khizzara August 26, 2012 / 7:50 pm

        I might steal this format from you for Equestrian… >.>

  4. Ironyca August 26, 2012 / 7:43 pm

    Wow! The winner is really good. There’s some attention to detail there, fx the red bracers. Really good mix and match.

    • JD Kenada August 26, 2012 / 8:41 pm

      That was similar to my thoughts as well.

  5. Ironyca August 26, 2012 / 7:47 pm

    Forgot to say, Earthen Ring, that is a tight mog, right there! Love it.

    • prettyflydraenei August 26, 2012 / 10:39 pm

      I like that one a lot too, purple and brown is a unique combo with Black Ice.

  6. Cymre August 26, 2012 / 9:41 pm

    Oh nice, I love this commentary. It was even easier to follow along but holy crap that was a close event. Congrats to the other medallists. EEE!

    • JD Kenada August 27, 2012 / 3:46 am

      I tried to do something a little different with this recap. I’m glad folks liked it.

      Congrats again on your silver.

  7. Anoukisse August 26, 2012 / 10:50 pm

    OMGosh! That was me! I’m speechless! Thank you! 😀 And definitely, all those entries were really awesome! For some reason, I find night elves lend themselves best to this discipline! The way they stand I think, or, idk. They carry the polearms in a very proud way… Grats to everyone who won medals, and to all the outfits for this event! 🙂

  8. tomeoftheancient August 27, 2012 / 5:56 am

    Congratulations to all! Oh, Anou! That’s you! Grats! One of my favorite blogs to look at beautiful outfits!

    • Anoukisse August 27, 2012 / 9:44 am

      Awww, thanks Ancient! If I didn’t have so much fun doing it… making outfits has me addicted. But I love to be able to carry them out in-game which turns it into a very long, arduous and costly procedure a lot of the time! 😉

      • JD Kenada August 27, 2012 / 10:01 am

        Sounds like you have better luck than I. I end up making outfits that require going to places I can’t get to, or the RNG hates me. lol

  9. Freyana August 27, 2012 / 8:26 am

    Oof! Another incredibly close round. Grats to the winners!

    • JD Kenada August 27, 2012 / 10:01 am

      As I say, I think that one was the absolute closest!

  10. dragonray August 27, 2012 / 2:34 pm

    I think this one has some of the best transmogs so far, so many I want to steal, I just don’t have 47 toons that can use pole arms!! Although that Back Ice polearm from malygos certainly has me wanting another one that can 🙂

    Grats to the winners again 🙂 Fantastic!

    • JD Kenada August 27, 2012 / 2:51 pm

      I honestly would never have thought of that many decent polearms, let alone amazing outfits to go with `em.

  11. Kaleri (@Kaleri_) August 27, 2012 / 6:15 pm

    I really liked this format, much easier to read and keep track of! I wasn’t sitting there at the end going, “wait… who won again?”

    • JD Kenada August 27, 2012 / 7:55 pm

      Thanks. It really is trial and error. I wanted to present them in a variety of ways. I can see how some have been popular and others not as much.

Leave a comment