Friday Top 5: Patch 5.0.4.

It’s been a while since I’ve done a top five, and with the patch coming next week I thought there’s no better time for a discussion than with the big change on the horizon.  So, here’s what I’m looking most forward to when I log on Wednesday evening (because I’m at a concert Tuesday):

1. Theramore
Yessir, the Lore fan in me is quivering with anticipation over what actually happens to Jaina’s nest and subsequently her as well.  I think what has me most excited, though, is for the first time in a pre-expansion event I get to experience the full spectrum on both sides.  Sure, I got to help Vol’jin get his island back but that was the extent of my Horde involvement.  Saintvache is armed and ready.  Tum has his spells prepped, and Siori’s lurking in the shadows of Dustwallow Marsh as we speak.

2. Glyphs
Probably a bit of a surprise, but much of what I have seen with the Glyph system is a welcomed relief.  Prime Glyphs are gone, and it looks to me like the idea of glyphs will be much more “flavour” than anything else.  I don’t think this could be more true than with the Druid class.  So many options now!  Can’t wait to see what they do with the others.  Oh, and of course the profits I expect my Scribe to experience.

3. Account Wide
Whether it’s achievements, pets, or mounts, it all falls under this category.  The mount one just allows me to use the best character for the job rather than the one I want it on most.  I’ll also happily admit it benefits those of us with alts and one could call it supporting laziness.  But much of this expansion is aimed at time-limited players, so less grinding and farming for alts is ok at this stage of WoW as far as I’m concerned.  Who knows, with achievements account-wide, I might actually try for a few more of them.

4. Battle Tags
In reading the Patch Notes, I finally saw confirmation of this system being implemented.  I’m happy because I know a number of people who have no interest in sharing anything personal via Real ID (and, quite frankly, I’m fine with that) but will quite easily share something as simple as a battle tag.  Once again, I have mine.  JDKenada #1124.  Feel free to hit me up if you’re not into the whole Real ID thing (or are just switching away from it).

5. AoE Looting
As someone who’s farmed and solo’d dungeons with some semblance of regularity (more so prior to this expansion)…this seems horribly overdue.  Heck, even my laptopis excited about this one.  I look forward to not having to figure out which sparkle is the one I haven’t looted and which one has the hunk of Bear Meat I just don’t feel like looting.

Obviously with a patch this big, there are a lot of things going on and a large amount offered up to us.  There’s currency conversions (man, I hope that means current Valor gear becomes Justice as well).  There’s the whole talent system, which I only kept off the list because I don’t know what to think at this point.  It’s definitely a wait and see on that one.  But you can bet for sure that come Wednesday night I will be doing all I can in Theramore…from both sides.  That’s the big one for me.

4 thoughts on “Friday Top 5: Patch 5.0.4.

  1. Spencer Nozell August 24, 2012 / 2:10 pm

    AoE looting and shared mounts going to be the highlight of the patch for me

    • JD Kenada August 24, 2012 / 2:23 pm

      Yeah, seeing my crazy Tauren on a Chopper will be a little fitting.

  2. Ishtla August 24, 2012 / 3:39 pm

    To answer your question about valor gear; the blue post about the currency change stated that current valor gear will be purchasable with justice points after 5.0.4

    • JD Kenada August 24, 2012 / 6:39 pm

      Cool. I figured as much, but I haven’t been to the forums all that much lately. Apparently something else has kept me busy, lol.

Leave a comment